marcel barang

Festival Brassens – 1

In English, French, Reading matters on 09/04/2011 at 6:45 pm

.
Georges Brassens’s turn. He was the bard of my formative years, much earlier than Jacques Brel. When his first record came out, I was eight (and he, 32), but soon I knew all the songs of La mauvaise réputation by heart. (Below is the title song of that record, audible at youtube.com/watch?v=p4j1RmzFFC4.) And by the time I was sixteen, his ‘Le temps ne fait rien à l’affaire’ summarised for Alceste me all that was wrong with my folks and my times. Half a century later, I keep humming it whenever I need to remind myself of its deep truth, seen from the other end of the peril scope.
Yet time must have had something to do with it after all: when I trawled the net for Brassens songs last week, sure I found many I was familiar with, but also many I can’t remember having ever heard. Most amazing was the discovery of an entire website, analysebrassens.com, dissecting in all learnedness all of the songs of the griot de la gaudriole.
Worthy of mention too are the excellent, didactic English translations on David Barfield’s blog (dbarf.blogspot.com/2010/12/chronological-list-of-brassens-songs-on.html).

La mauvaise réputation – Georges Brassens – 1953

The bad reputation

Au village, sans prétention
J’ai mauvaise réputation
Qu’je m’démène ou qu’je reste coi
Je pass’ pour un je-ne-sais-quoi!

In the village, though unassuming
I have a bad reputation
Whether I put myself out or keep quiet
I’m thought of as a I-don’t-know-what

Je ne fais pourtant de tort à personne
En suivant mon chemin de petit bonhomme
Mais les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Non les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Tout le monde médit de moi
Sauf les muets, ça va de soi

Yet I do nobody no harm
By going peacefully along
But the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
No the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
Everyone speaks ill of me
Except the dumb, needless to say

Le jour du Quatorze Juillet
Je reste dans mon lit douillet
La musique qui marche au pas
Cela ne me regarde pas
Je ne fais pourtant de tort à personne
En n’écoutant pas le clairon qui sonne
Mais les brav’s gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Non les brav’s gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Tout le monde me montre du doigt
Sauf les manchots, ça va de soi

On the Fourteenth of July
I keep to my cosy bed
Marching music
Is no concern of mine
Yet I do nobody no harm
By not listening to the bugle as it sounds
But the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
No, the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
Everyone points at me
Except the penguins, needless to say

Quand j’croise un voleur malchanceux
Poursuivi par un cul-terreux
J’lance la patte et pourquoi le taire
Le cul-terreux s’retrouv’ par terre
Je ne fait pourtant de tort à personne
En laissant courir les voleurs de pommes
Mais les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux,
Non les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Tout le monde se rue sur moi
Sauf les culs-de-jatte, ça va de soi

When I come across an unlucky thief
Chased by some country bumpkin
I stick out my foot, and why not say it
The country bumpkin finds himself on the ground
Yet I’m doing nobody no harm
By letting apple thieves get away
But the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
No the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
Everybody pounces on me
Except the legless, needless to say

Pas besoin d’être Jérémie
Pour d’viner l’sort qui m’est promis
S’ils trouv’nt une corde à leur goût
Ils me la passeront au cou
Je ne fais pourtant de tort à personne
En suivant les ch’mins qui n’mèn’ pas à Rome
Mais les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Non les brav’ gens n’aiment pas que
L’on suive une autre route qu’eux
Tout l’mond’ viendra me voir pendu
Sauf les aveugles, bien entendu

No need to be a Jeremiah
To guess the fate that awaits me
If they find a rope to their liking
They’ll put it round my neck
Yet I’m doing nobody no harm
By following paths that don’t lead to Rome
But the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
No, the good folk don’t like it when
You follow another path than theirs
Everybody will come to see me hanged
Except the blind, naturally

Leave a Reply

