marcel barang

Festival Ferré – 8

In English, French, Reading matters on 25/03/2011 at 5:56 pm

.

La solitude – Léo Ferré – 1972

Loneliness

Je suis d’un autre pays que le vôtre, d’un autre quartier, d’une autre solitude. Je m’invente aujourd’hui des chemins de traverse. Je ne suis plus de chez vous. J’attends des mutants.
Biologiquement, je m’arrange avec l’idée que je me fais de la biologie : je pisse, j’éjacule, je pleure.
Il est de toute première instance que nous façonnions nos idées comme s’il s’agissait d’objets manufacturés. Je suis prêt à vous procurer les moules. Mais…
La solitude…
La solitude…

I’m from another country than yours, from another district, from another loneliness. I invent shortcuts for myself today. I’m no longer one of yours. I’m waiting for mutants. Biologically I make do with the idea I have of biology: I pee, I ejaculate, I cry.
The utter priority for us is to shape our ideas as if they were manufactured goods. I’m willing to provide you with the moulds. But
Loneliness
Loneliness

Les moules sont d’une texture nouvelle, je vous avertis. Ils ont été coulés demain matin.
Si vous n’avez pas, dès ce jour, le sentiment relatif de votre durée, il est inutile de vous transmettre, il est inutile de regarder devant vous car devant c’est derrière, la nuit c’est le jour. Et…
La solitude…
La solitude…
La solitude…

The moulds are of a new texture, I’m warning you. They were cast tomorrow morning.
If you don’t have as of today an inkling of your lifespan, it’s pointless for you to beget, it’s pointless to look ahead, as ahead is abaft, night is day. And
Loneliness (x3)

Il est de toute première instance que les laveries automatiques, au coin des rues, soient aussi imperturbables que les feux d’arrêt ou de voie libre.
Les flics du détersif vous indiqueront la case où il vous sera loisible de laver ce que vous croyez être votre conscience et qui n’est qu’une dépendance de l’ordinateur neurophile qui vous sert de cerveau. Et pourtant…
La solitude…
La solitude!

It is of prime import that launderettes at street corners be as imperturbable as traffic stop-start signals
The cops of detergent will show you the slot where you might clean what you believe to be your conscience and which is but a dependence of the neurophile computer that you use for a brain. And yet
Loneliness
Loneliness

Le désespoir est une forme supérieure de la critique. Pour le moment, nous l’appellerons « bonheur », les mots que vous employez n’étant plus « les mots » mais une sorte de conduit à travers lequel les analphabètes se font bonne conscience. Mais…
La solitude…
La solitude…
La solitude, la solitude, la solitude…
La solitude!

Despair is a superior form of criticism. For the time being we’ll call it ‘happiness’, the words you use being no longer ‘words’ but some kind of conduit through which the illiterate ease their conscience. But
Loneliness (x6)

Le Code Civil, nous en parlerons plus tard. Pour le moment, je voudrais codifier l’incodifiable. Je voudrais mesurer vos danaïdes démocraties. Je voudrais m’insérer dans le vide absolu et devenir le non-dit, le non-avenu, le non-vierge par manque de lucidité.
La lucidité se tient dans mon froc!
Dans mon froc!

The civil code, we’ll talk about that later. For now I’d like to codify the uncodifiable. I’d like to measure your bottomless democracies. I’d like to insert myself into absolute void and become what’s left unsaid, the null and void, the non-virgin for lack of lucidity
Lucidity holds the fort in my briefs
In my briefs

youtube.com/watch?v=UuHDceDUSyU. A more playful – or is it impish? – version is at youtube.com/watch?v=BR7E0fbl-As.

Leave a Reply

