marcel barang

Festival Brel – 14

In English, French, Reading matters on 06/03/2011 at 6:33 pm

.

This was written and hollered ten years before Brel’s final curtain call. It’s at youtube.com/watch?v=cLgZUmbDFo4&feature=related – and it will mark the end of this retrospective which has avoided some of the more commercial hits, such as ‘Mathilde’ or ‘Madeleine’ or ‘Jef’, this minstrel was blessed with – for the simple reason that they aren’t challenging enough to translate, or, in the case of ‘Quand on n’a que l’amour’, because it makes me want to puke with its load of clichés and maudlin beat.
By the way, dear smutty English readers, there’s no double-entendre in the title and punch line of this song.

Who’s next? Brassens? Ferré? How would I know? I just work here.

J’arrive – Jacques Brel – 1968

I’m coming

De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
Nos amitiés sont en partance
De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
La mort potence nos dulcinées
De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
Les autres fleurs font ce qu’elles peuvent
De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
Les hommes pleurent les femmes pleuvent

From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
Our friendships are setting off
From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
Death hangs off our ladyloves
From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
The other flowers do what they can
From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
Men cry, women cry buckets

J’arrive, j’arrive
Mais qu’est-ce que j’aurais bien aimé
Encore une fois traîner mes os
Jusqu’au soleil jusqu’à l’été
Jusqu’à demain jusqu’au printemps
J’arrive, j’arrive
Mais qu’est-ce que j’aurais bien aimé
Encore une fois voir si le fleuve
Est encore fleuve, voir si le port
Est encore port, m’y voir encore
J’arrive, j’arrive
Mais pourquoi moi pourquoi maintenant
Pourquoi déjà et où aller
J’arrive, bien sûr j’arrive
N’ai-je jamais rien fait d’autre qu’arriver

Coming! I’m coming
But oh how I would have liked
To one more time drag my bones
To the sun until summer
Until tomorrow, until next spring
Coming! I’m coming
But oh how I would have liked
To one more time see if the river
Is still a river, see if the harbour
Is still a harbour, still see myself there
Coming! I’m coming
But why me? Why now?
Why so soon and where to?
Coming! Of course I’m coming
Have I ever done anything else but come?

De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
À chaque fois plus solitaire
De chrysanthèmes en chrysanthèmes
À chaque fois surnuméraire
J’arrive, j’arrive
Mais qu’est-ce que j’aurais bien aimé
Encore une fois prendre un amour
Comme on prend le train pour plus être seul
Pour être ailleurs pour être bien
J’arrive, j’arrive
Mais qu’est-ce que j’aurais bien aimé
Encore une fois remplir d’étoiles
Un corps qui tremble et tomber mort
Brûlé d’amour, le cœur en cendres
J’arrive, j’arrive
C’est même pas toi qui es en avance
C’est déjà moi qui suis en retard
J’arrive, bien sûr j’arrive
N’ai-je jamais rien fait d’autre qu’arriver

From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
Each time a little more lonely
From chrysanthemums to chrysanthemums
Each time supernumerary
Coming! I’m coming
But oh how I would have liked
To one more time take a lover
As one takes a train to be alone no more
To be elsewhere, to be well
Coming! I’m coming
But oh how I would have liked
To one more time fill with stars
A body that quavers and then fall dead
Burnt out by love, heart burnt to ashes
Coming! I’m coming
It isn’t even you who are early
It’s already I who am late
Coming! Of course I’m coming
Have I ever done anything else but come?

Leave a Reply

