marcel barang

Festival Brel – 11

In English, French, Reading matters on 02/03/2011 at 7:38 pm

.

Le moribond – Jacques Brel – 1961

The dying man

Adieu l’Émile je t’aimais bien
Adieu l’Émile je t’aimais bien, tu sais
On a chanté les mêmes vins
On a chanté les mêmes filles
On a chanté les mêmes chagrins
Adieu l’Émile je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps, tu sais
Mais j’pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’âme
Car vu qu’t’es bon comme du pain blanc
Je sais qu’tu prendras soin d’ma femme

Goodbye, Emile, I loved you well
Goodbye, Emile, I loved you well, you know
We used to sing of the same wines
We used to sing of the same women
We used to sing of the same sorrows
Goodbye, Emile, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the springtime, you know
But I’m going to the daisies contented
Coz given that you’re as good as fresh bread
I know you’ll take care of my wife

[Refrain]
J’veux qu’on rie
J’veux qu’on danse
J’veux qu’on s’amuse comme des fous
J’veux qu’on rie
J’veux qu’on danse
Quand c’est qu’on m’mettra dans l’trou

[Chorus]
I want ye all to laugh
I want ye all to dance
I want ye all to party like mad
I want ye all to laugh
I want ye all to dance
When it’s the time to put me in the ground

Adieu Curé je t’aimais bien
Adieu Curé je t’aimais bien, tu sais
On n’était pas du même bord
On n’était pas du même chemin
Mais on cherchait le même port
Adieu Curé je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps, tu sais
Mais j’pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’âme
Car vu que t’étais son confident
Je sais qu’tu prendras soin d’ma femme

Goodbye, Father, I loved you well
Goodbye, Father, I loved you well, you know
We weren’t on the same side
We weren’t on the same path
Yet were searching for the same harbour
Goodbye, Father, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the springtime, you know
But I’m going to the daisies contented
Coz given that you’re her confessor
I know you’ll take care of my wife

[Refrain] [Chorus]

Adieu l’Antoine je t’aimais pas bien
Adieu l’Antoine je t’aimais pas bien, tu sais
J’en crève de crever aujourd’hui
Alors que toi tu es bien vivant
Et même plus solide que l’ennui
Adieu l’Antoine je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps, tu sais
Mais j’pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’âme
Car vu que tu étais son amant
Je sais qu’tu prendras soin d’ma femme

Goodbye, Antoine, I didn’t like you much
Goodbye, Antoine, I didn’t like you much, you know
It’s killing me to die today
While you’re still so full of life
And even sturdier than boredom
Goodbye, Antoine, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the springtime, you know
But I’m going to the daisies contented
Coz given that you’ve been her lover
I know you’ll take care of my wife

[Refrain] [Chorus]

Adieu ma femme je t’aimais bien
Adieu ma femme je t’aimais bien, tu sais
Mais je prends l’train pour le bon Dieu
Je prends le train qui est avant l’tien
Mais on prend tous le train qu’on peut
Adieu ma femme, je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps, tu sais
Mais j’pars aux fleurs les yeux fermés, ma femme
Car vu qu’j’les ai fermés souvent
Je sais qu’tu prendras soin d’mon âme

Goodbye, my wife, I loved thee well
Goodbye, my wife, I loved thee well, you know
But I’m catching the train to the good Lord
I’m taking the train ahead of yours
But we all take the train when we have to
Goodbye, my wife, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the springtime, you know
But I’m going to the daisies with my eyes closed, my wife
Coz given I’ve closed them often
I know you’ll take care of my soul

[Refrain] [Chorus]

youtube.com/watch?v=6Jl-R2NhUiI

Leave a Reply

