marcel barang

Chantent les miroirs

In English, French, Reading matters on 18/01/2011 at 1:25 am

.

Among the myriad songs clamouring for translation on Lyrics Translate, I found half a dozen texts of merit I’ll tackle by and by as the mood strikes. Here is one, ‘Saïd et Mohamed’ by Francis Cabrel every Frenchman but me has heard before. You can listen to it/him at dailymotion.com/video/xbtjq_francis-cabrel-said-et-mohamed_music.

Saïd et Mohamed – Francis Cabrel – 1984

Said and Mohamed

Elle changeait les draps de l’hôtel
Les traces de doigts sur les poubelles
Petite hirondelle, au milieu des corbeaux
Elle chantait “Desperado”
Moi, j’avais du retard sur le sommeil
Je m’étais fait doubler par le soleil
Elle de l’autre côté du couloir
Elle faisait chanter les miroirs

She changed bed sheets at the hotel
Fingerprints on dustbins
A little swallow amongst crows
She sang ‘Desperado’
As for me I was short of sleep
Overtaken by the sun
Across the corridor
She made mirrors sing

J’ai passé une heure de sa vie
Une heure sous le soleil d’Algérie
Sous la course des planètes
Y a des moments qu’on regrette
Derrière ses paupières mi-closes
Je voyais plus de gris que de rose
Quand je suis parti, j’ai bien compris
Que je perdais quelque chose

I spent one hour of her life
One hour under the Algerian sun
Under the course of the planets
There are moments one regrets
Behind her half-closed eyelids
I saw more grey than pink
When I left I was well aware
That I was losing something

Ces enfants qui font rien à l’école
Et qui ont les poches pleines de tubes de colle
De toute façon personne ne t’aide
Quand tu t’appelles Saïd ou Mohamed
C’est le ciel en tôle ondulée pour toujours
C’est la fenêtre sur la troisième cour
C’est le cri des voisines plein les oreilles
Et les heures de mauvais sommeil

Those kids that do zilch at school
And have their pockets full of glue tubes
In any case no one will help you
When your name is Said or Mohamed
It’s corrugated iron sky forever
It’s windows giving on the third backyard
It’s the din of neighbours’ shrieks in your ears
And hours and hours of bad sleep

Mais s’il y a quelqu’un autour qui comprend
Le mauvais français, le musulman
Sous la course des planètes
Ça serait bien qu’il s’inquiète
Avant que ses paupières n’explosent
Et qu’elles prennent ce gris en overdose
Quand je suis parti j’ai bien compris
Qu’on y pouvait quelque chose

But if someone thereabouts understands
Bad French, the Muslim parlance,
Under the course of the planets
It’d be a good thing if he got concerned
Before her eyelids blow up
And take an overdose of that grey
When I left I was well aware
That something could be done about it

Toi t’envoies dix francs
Pour les enfants du Gange
Parce que t’as vu les photos qui dérangent
T’envoies dix francs
Pour les enfants d’ailleurs
Parce que t’as vu les photos qui font peur
Et elle que tu croises en bas de chez toi
Elle que tu croises en bas de chez toi

You send ten francs
To the children of the Ganges
Because you saw snapshots that upset
You send ten francs
To children elsewhere
Because you saw pictures that scare
And she whom you brush by outside your place
She whom you brush by outside your place

Depuis je suis retourné à Marseille
Ses amis n’ont pas de nouvelles
Y a trop d’hirondelles
Ou trop de corbeaux
Elle a du changer de ghetto
Moi, je crois plutôt qu’elle
Change les draps d’un autre hôtel
D’autres traces de doigts
Sur d’autres poubelles
De l’autre côté d’un autre couloir
Elle doit faire chanter les miroirs
Chanter les miroirs, chanter les miroirs, chanter les miroirs

Since then I’ve gone back to Marseilles
Her friends have no news
Too many swallows
Or too many crows
She must have changed ghettoes
I myself rather think she
Changes bed sheets in some other hotel
Other fingerprints
On other dustbins
Across some other corridor
She must be making mirrors sing
Making mirrors sing x 3

  1. This is a beautiful translation of this poignant song! Bravo, and thanks!!

Leave a Reply

