marcel barang

Schoolwork

In English, French, Reading matters on 29/08/2010 at 5:31 pm

 

This weekend, there’s been a blitz on this blog. Somewhere on Earth (reasonable inference), some teacher of English told his or her students to translate into French ‘A thousand kisses deep’: so far, half of the classroom has trawled cyberspace and hit on this blog. Happy copy-paste everybody!
When I tell GB her ‘Englouti sous mille baisers’ is a hit, she confides it was ‘Let’s spend the night together’ she gave her students to translate way back in 1967. How naughty!
So I had a look at that, merely to take a break from Thai poetry, and here is my copy. Will I get a passing grade? It’s amazing how illiterate one must be to produce a hit song!
Anyway, if you want to feel your age and shed a smile or a tear, you’ll find Mick and Keith at youtube.com/watch?v=188lLt0lyP4 and David at youtube.com/watch?v=7vYmcxsIzMY.

Let’s spend the night together

Passons la nuit ensemble

My, My, My, My
Don’t you worry ’bout what’s on your mind (Oh my)
I’m in no hurry I can take my time (Oh my)
I’m going red and my tongue’s getting tied (tongue’s getting tied)
I’m off my head and my mouth’s getting dry
I’m high, But I try, try, try (Oh my)

Oui, oui, oui, oui
Te mets pas martel en tête (dis donc)
Je ne suis pas pressé, je peux prendre mon temps (oh oui)
Je rougis et ma langue se noue
Je perds la tête et j’ai la bouche sèche
Je plane, mais j’essaie, j’essaie, j’essaie (oh oui)

Let’s spend the night together
Now I need you more than ever
Let’s spend the night together now

Passons la nuit ensemble
Maintenant j’ai besoin de toi plus que jamais
Passons la nuit ensemble maintenant

I feel so strong that I can’t disguise (oh my)
Let’s spend the night together
But I just can’t apologize (oh no)
Let’s spend the night together
Don’t hang me up and don’t let me down (don’t let me down)
We could have fun just groovin’ around, around and around
Oh my, my

Je me sens si fort que je peux pas l’cacher (oh non)
Mais pas question de m’excuser (oh non)
Me fais pas attendre, me laisse pas tomber (me laisse pas tomber)
On pourrait s’amuser en se faisant plaisir tout simplement, tout simplement
Oh oui, oui

Let’s spend the night together
Now I need you more than ever
Let’s spend the night together

Let’s spend the night together
Now I need you more than ever

Passons la nuit ensemble
Maintenant j’ai besoin de toi plus que jamais
Passons la nuit ensemble maintenant
Passons la nuit ensemble
Maintenant j’ai besoin de toi plus que jamais

You know I’m smiling, baby
You need some guiding, baby
I’m just deciding, baby – now
I need you more than ever
Let’s spend the night together
Let’s spend the night together now

Tu sais que je souris, poupée
T’as besoin d’être un peu guidée, poupée
Alors c’est décidé, poupée – voilà
J’ai besoin de toi plus que jamais
Passons la nuit ensemble
Passons la nuit ensemble maintenant

This doesn’t happen to me ev’ry day (oh my)
Let’s spend the night together
No excuses offered anyway (oh my)
Let’s spend the night together
I’ll satisfy your every need (every need)
And now I know you will satisfy me
Oh my, my, my, my, my

Ça m’arrive pas tous les jours (oh non)
De toute façon, pas question d’excuses (oh non)
Je satisferai tous tes besoins
Et maintenant je sais que tu me combleras
Oh oui, oui, oui, oui

Let’s spend the night together
Now I need you more than ever
Let’s spend the night together now

Passons la nuit ensemble
Maintenant j’ai besoin de toi plus que jamais
Passons la nuit ensemble maintenant

Leave a Reply

