marcel barang

On a dark desert highway

In English, French on 14/06/2010 at 9:32 pm

.

I’ve had this song under my skin for donkey’s years like some sort of psoriasis. So let me scratch it French, and be cured. The dote is on youtube.com/watch?v=DyDRWMnfEAw. The antidote is here. Bring your alibis.

Hotel California – The Eagles – 1976

On a dark desert highway, cool wind in my hair
Warm smell of colitas rising up through the air
Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim
I had to stop for the night
There she stood in the doorway;
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinking to myself,
this could be heaven or this could be hell
Then she lit up a candle and she showed me the way
There were voices down the corridor,
I thought I heard them say…

Sur une autoroute sombre du désert, le vent frais dans mes cheveux
La senteur chaude des colitas* s’élevant dans les airs
Loin droit devant, j’ai vu une lumière scintiller
Ma tête est devenue lourde et ma vue s’est voilée
J’ai dû m’arrêter pour la nuit
Elle attendait là sur le porche
J’ai entendu la cloche de la mission
Et je me suis dit,
Ça pourrait être le paradis ou ça pourrait être l’enfer
Puis elle a allumé une bougie et elle m’a montré le chemin
Il y avait des voix au fond du couloir
Il m’a semblé les entendre dire…
* Colitas : littéralement ‘petites queues’ ; bourgeons de cannabis

Welcome to the hotel California
Such a lovely place
Such a lovely face
Plenty of room at the hotel California
Any time of year, you can find it here

Bienvenu à l’hôtel California
Quel délicieux endroit
Quel délicieux minois
C’est pas l’espace qui manque à l’hôtel California
A n’importe quel moment de l’année, vous pouvez en trouver ici

Her mind is Tiffany-twisted, she got the Mercedes bends
She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys, that she calls friends
How they dance in the courtyard, sweet summer sweat.
Some dance to remember, some dance to forget

Tiffany l’obnubile et elle décompresse Mercedes grave
Elle a des tas d’adorables minets qu’elle appelle des copains
Comme ils dansent dans la cour ! Douce sueur d’été
Certains dansent pour se souvenir, d’autres pour oublier

So I called up the captain,
Please bring me my wine
He said, We haven’t had that spirit here since nineteen sixty-nine
And still those voices are calling from far away,
Wake you up in the middle of the night
Just to hear them say…

Alors j’ai appelé le Capitaine
S’il vous plaît apportez-moi mon vin
Il a dit, Nous n’avons plus ce breuvage ici depuis 1969
Et toujours ces voix qui appellent de loin
et vous réveillent au milieu de la nuit
Juste pour les entendre dire…

Welcome to the hotel California
Such a lovely place
Such a lovely face
They livin’ it up at the hotel California
What a nice surprise, bring your alibis

Bienvenu à l’hôtel California
Quel délicieux endroit
Quel délicieux minois
On fait la fête à l’hôtel California
Quelle bonne surprise
N’arrivez pas sans alibis

Mirrors on the ceiling,
The pink champagne on ice
And she said We are all just prisoners here, of our own device
And in the master’s chambers,
They gathered for the feast
The stab it with their steely knives,
But they just can’t kill the beast 

Miroirs au plafond
Champagne rose frappé
Et elle a dit, Nous sommes juste des prisonniers ici
De notre propre fait
Et dans les quartiers privés du maître
Ils se sont réunis pour le festin
Ils ont beau la piquer de leur couteaux acérés
Ils ne parviennent pas à tuer la bête

Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
relax, said the night man,
We are programmed to receive.
You can check out any time you like,
But you can never leave!

La dernière chose dont je me souvienne
Je courais vers la porte
Je devais trouver le passage
par où je reviendrais là où j’étais avant
Vous en faites pas, m’a dit le veilleur de nuit
On est programmés pour recevoir
Vous pouvez régler la note quand vous voulez
Mais vous ne pourrez jamais nous quitter

Leave a Reply

