marcel barang

I’m your man

In English, French, Reading matters on 24/01/2010 at 8:42 pm

 

Mutton korma, dahi and plain naan at succulent if these days unjustly deserted Himali Cha Cha round the corner from the Oriental, and a three hours’ chat all told with a couple of French friends: such was the Saturday night break without breakage that was, after the month’s laundry and Gavroche chores on less than three hours’ sleep. Finishing touches to a ’Rong Wongsawan short story and fine-tuning another by Wisa Khamthap to make the rest of the lachrymose-skies weekend meaningful while SomaFM purrs advertising-free in the background (wink, wink, tune in, folks). More trouble with the thaifiction.com website in perspective (thanks, Khun Isara) and no time, no mood, to blog tonight while the chicken stew’s burbling on the gas stove. So to hell resolutions: here is another Cohen’s song, my favourite actually. And whose man I am she knows, I’m sure.

I’m your man [Leonard Cohen 1988]

J’suis ton homme

If you want a lover
I’ll do anything you ask me to
And if you want another kind of love
I’ll wear a mask for you
If you want a partner
Take my hand
Or if you want to strike me down in anger
Here I stand
I’m your man

Si tu veux un amant
je ferai tout ce que tu me demanderas
et si tu veux une autre sorte d’amour
je porterai un masque pour toi
Si tu veux un partenaire
prends ma main
ou si tu veux me descendre dans ta colère
me voici
j’suis ton homme

If you want a boxer
I will step into the ring for you
And if you want a doctor
I’ll examine every inch of you
If you want a driver
Climb inside
Or if you want to take me for a ride
You know you can
I’m your man

Si tu veux un boxeur
je monterai sur le ring pour toi
et si tu veux un docteur
j’ausculterai chaque pouce de toi
Si tu veux un chauffeur
monte à bord
ou si tu veux m’emmener faire un tour
tu sais que tu l’peux
j’suis ton homme

Ah, the moon’s too bright
The chain’s too tight
The beast won’t go to sleep
I’ve been running through these promises to you
That I made and I could not keep

Ah, la lune est trop claire
la chaîne est trop serrée
la bête refuse de se coucher
J’ai passé en revue toutes les promesses
que je t’ai faites et n’ai pu tenir

Ah but a man never got a woman back
Not by begging on his knees
Or I’d crawl to you baby
And I’d fall at your feet
And I’d howl at your beauty
Like a dog in heat
And I’d claw at your heart
And I’d tear at your sheet
I’d say please, please
I’m your man

Ah mais un homme n’a jamais reconquis une femme
en la suppliant à genoux
sinon je ramperais vers toi, poupée
et je tomberais à tes pieds
et je hurlerais à ta beauté
comme un chien en rut
et je te grifferais le cœur
et je déchirerais tes draps
Je dirais, Par pitié, par pitié
j’suis ton homme

And if you’ve got to sleep
A moment on the road
I will steer for you
And if you want to work the street alone
I’ll disappear for you
If you want a father for your child
Or only want to walk with me a while
Across the sand
I’m your man

Et si tu dois dormir
un instant sur la route
je prendrai le volant
Et si tu veux arpenter seule la rue
je disparaîtrai de ta vue
Si tu veux un père pour ton enfant
ou seulement marcher avec moi pour un temps
sur le sable
j’suis ton homme

If you want a lover
I’ll do anything you ask me to
And if you want another kind of love
I’ll wear a mask for you

 Si tu veux un amant
je ferai tout ce que tu me demanderas
et si tu veux une autre sorte d’amour
je porterai un masque pour toi

Leave a Reply

