marcel barang

Debacle

In English on 12/10/2009 at 11:43 pm

 

Unless a miracle happens in the next eighteen hours, thaifiction.com (new formula) will not come online before my departure for a week in France tomorrow night – or if it does it won’t allow viewers to buy the books on offer. [Yes, the trip is on: Chart Korbjitti did get his visa this afternoon.]

Around 7pm, for the second time today, I crossed over to the computer nest where Mr Pop and Mr Ben have been damn busy for the past eight months delaying the coming online of said website. I went there at their request, only to find out that my presence wasn’t required after all.

Everything was ready to be uploaded into the ether, they said, so we decided to try for real the connection to the payment system, by having me purchase one of my books through the local imitation of PayPal, PaysBuy (pronounced Pay Sabai meaning Pay Easy).

Well, the PaysBuy website refused to gobble my purchase, for reasons of their own, it seems. For reclamations, call this number … at 9am tomorrow morning.

Never mind, my darling duo said, we’ll upload the site all the same in the next hour or two, and clear up the matter with PaysBuy at the earliest tomorrow morning. I told them I would try again from home to reach PaysBuy around 10 or 11pm and let them know how it went.

So I went back home, had dinner, did some work and then tackled PaysBuy: nothing doing, but for another reason: their Verify Visa (a credit card I just got and was inaugurating) refused the specifications – not once, but four or five or seven times.

Checking on the ‘old’ thaifiction.com, I found that it’s been taken off the air. And of course the ‘new’ thaifiction.com isn’t there either.

By then it was 10 pm.

So I called Mr Pop on his portable: no answer, no return call.

I called Mr Ben on his portable: no answer, no return call.

That’s how things stand as of 11h30 this Monday 12 October 2009. And I’m thoroughly pissed off.

Unless a miracle happens in the next seventeen and a half hours…

PS: Oh, by the way, whether or not the miracle happens, I’ll be away anyway for a week. So you can stop reading this blog as well until my return here on 21 October. So long, then.

  1. ขอให้เดินทางโดยสวัสดิภาพค่ะคุณมาแซลส์
    รอฟังข่าวจากฝรั่งเศส และรอความพร้อมสรรพของเว็บไซต์ thaifiction.com
    อย่างจดจ่อ (เพราะตอนที่ยังไม่เสร็จสมบูรณ์ แต่ก็ได้เห็นว่าเป็นเว็บที่สวยงามและตั้งใจกับรายละเอียดมากค่ะ ^^”)

    หนู

  2. Marcel – try to do all by yourself.

    Try to learn how to install, maintain, upgrade a website.

    Do it all yourself from scratch.

    Invest those few days, it doesn’t take more, and you’re not dependent on anyone.

    Hope your site will be up soon and just relax, the world keeps on evolving.

Leave a Reply

